We’ve tried to make the site easy to use, but here’s a quick guide to some common tasks you might want to do.
Each customer organisation (say “ACME Widgets Ltd”) can have any number of user accounts, at least one of which is a “superuser” Superusers can do anything a normal user can, but can also manage the customer details and the other users associated with it.
You can’t sign up or create a user account yourself – you can only log in if an administrator or superuser has set one up for you.
If you previously used BT’s managed DNS (MDNS) system, your customer account will have been copied across, along with all its users and domains, but you will need to reset your password as described in the “logging in” section below to make your user account active.
If you are a registered user, you can log in using your email address and password. When you are first registered (by one of your customer account’s superusers) you will be sent a link to create an initial password.
You can also request a password reset at any time if you forget your password, or want to change it. To do this, first log out if necessary, using the account menu, then click the “forgot your password?” link.
The “your domains” page lists all domains associated with your organisation. Depending on how the superuser has configured your user, you may be able to edit some or all of the domains, or request the registration of a new domain.
Use the “Add a domain” button, then complete the form with the required details. Once you have completed the form, a request will be placed in your shopping basket. You will need to submit this as an order before the domain registration goes ahead (see “Placing an order” below).
Clicking the “Edit domain” button against a domain allows you to request a change to the contact details for that domain. Like a new domain request, this will add an item to your shopping basket.
Clicking the “Manage DNS” button against a domain will take you to the DNS page for that domain. The page shows all the current records for that domain, combined with any pending changes. From here you can add, modify or remove records. Once again, each change will appear in your shopping basket until you place the order.
When you have made the changes you need, visit your shopping basket to submit the order. If any changes are incorrect, you can remove them before the order is submitted.
Once an order has been placed, you will receive an email confirmation, with a link to the order page where you can keep track of progress (you will also be notified when the order is complete, or if there are any problems). You can see all your orders on your orders page, and superusers can also see all orders for the customer using the option in the account menu.
The following functionality is only available to superusers. all superuser options can be found under the account menu.
The manage users page lets you add, edit and remove users on your customer account (you can’t remove yourself). You can decide whether each user has superuser rights, and if not, whether they are allowed to request domains.
From the manage contacts page you can set the admin, billing and registrant contact details which will be used whenever anyone in your organisation requets a new domain, unless alternative details are specified when requesting the domain.
You can also set a default contact. This will be used in place of any of the other three if they are not specified.
The customer orders page shows all orders placed by your customer’s users. Click on the ID of an order to see the order details.
Using the customer charges page you can search for all charges to your organisation within a given date range. These charges include the cost of creation and change orders, as well as recurring management and renewal charges for your existing domains.